On The Record (Record #2)–K.A. Linde

OntheRecord-CVR.jpgBook            : On The Record (Record #2)
Author     d    : K.A. Linde
Pages           : 384 (Paperback)
Genred           : Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Published      : August 26th, 2014

 

4 star review.png

about ON THE RECORD

For political reporter Liz Dougherty, election day—a day of looking toward the future and saying goodbye to the past—seems like a fitting time to start a new relationship. But feelings for her former flame still linger…

The sexy second book in bestselling author K.A. Linde’s Record series decides whether it’s better to pick up the pieces and move on…or to pick up right where you left off.

 

off the record review.png

As soon as I finished Off the Record, I immediately got my hands on ‘On the Record’, the second installment of the Liz & Brady series. I had to know what would happen between the two, and with the odd cliffhanger at the end of the first book, I wasted no time to see where the story would lead. And let me say…

UNEXPECTED.

WOW.

OKAY THEN.

SO.

HAYDEN THEN.

At the end of the first book, Liz decided to walk away from State Senator Brady Maxwell. And, I’d say, for good reason. He repeatedly had made it clear that his first choice was the election, and on top of that, he wouldn’t even tell Liz that he loved her. (That’d make me leave in a heartbeat, see ya boy.) But as I was reading this story, I found myself praying for a Brady sighting….. just one. *sigh* Linde, GIVE US WHAT THE HEART WANTS.

“I can’t promise you that we won’t argue or fight or disagree like we did last night. I can’t promise you any of these things, but I can promise you, on the record,” he said, with that beautiful Hayden smile, “that I’ll always be here and I’ll never let go. I am not a perfect man, but I’ll always be yours, imperfections and all, if you’ll have me.”

Anyways (putting my crushing to the side), this story follows Liz with her journey to see what the heart wants. And what does the heart want? Apparently Hayden. *humpf* Though I have to give it to the guy, he treats Liz like a Queen. Like he’s found his #1 soulmate. (Until boy goes crazy with multiple personality disorder & brings down havoc like no other. SHOOK STILL.) But that to the side, Hayden loves Liz. Liz loves Brady. Liz COULD love Hayden? Brady loves tolerates Erin. Clay loves himself. Erin Loves Brady. That’s a lot of penis, a whole lot of estrogen and way too many emotions in one story.

Oddly enough, it never seemed like a love triangle or a fight to the death on who would win the affection of Liz. It was an evolution. It was a girl trying to figure out her life. And yes folks, we all know where this ends up. MY BOY BRADY STEALS THE SHOW. Liz and Brady just have a chemical, sexual, and emotional connection that isn’t going to disappear just cause someone walked away. And of COURSE, like any good story, they just can’t stop running into each other.

“But what?” she snapped. “You lost your balls and had to go looking for them all weekend?”

So while this book was unexpected, and a little confusing, it kept my little heart in knots over whether or not Liz would finally go back to Brady. Because our poor boy Brady was in heartache, even though he didn’t show it very well, (but can we blame a guy?) But now the time has come to see what will happen to this new relationship, and where it will go. I CANNOT WAIT to read the next book. (Disclaimer, I may have already started reading it late last night).

 

ka linde.png

K.A. Linde is the USA Today bestselling author of more than fifteen novels including the Avoiding series and the Record series. She has a Masters degree in political science from the University of Georgia, was the head campaign worker for the 2012 presidential campaign at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and served as the head coach of the Duke University dance team. She loves reading fantasy novels, geeking out over Star Wars, binge-watching Supernatural, and dancing in her spare time.

She currently lives in Lubbock, Texas, with her husband and two super adorable puppies.

Visit her online at www.kalinde.com and on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @authorkalinde.

 

links.png

add to GOODREADS | buy on AMAZON | visit K.A. LINDE’s site | FOLLOW me

Leave a Reply

